The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Time after time » » Using A Video Recorder (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Shawn74
View Profile
Loyal user
New Mexico
211 Posts

Profile of Shawn74
When you use a video recorder to tape your close-up work, (ie. card effects, coin matrix) how do you set it up? Do you use it to "burn" your hands for the effect, or do you set it as far back as you would have a spectator for the effect?
I am new to using this tool for rehersal and any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thank You.
Shawn
Hold your breath...make a wish...count to 3... and you'll be in a world of pure imagination
Willy Wonka
Mauricio Jaramillo
View Profile
Elite user
Colombia
412 Posts

Profile of Mauricio Jaramillo
A little bit of both. I don't have the camera close up to catch every detail. It's always about 2-3 feet away, so I get to see the what the spectator will see. (And to make sure I don't do some stupid face in the middle of a sleight.) This distance still allows me to see clearly what my hands are doing. This allows for the best analysis, in my opinion.
MikeDes
View Profile
Inner circle
Montreal
1177 Posts

Profile of MikeDes
I do both as well. When I am practicing, I will put the camera in close to really see what my hands are doing. When I am rehearsing, I will back the camera up to get an idea of what the spectator will see.

I must admit though, that I will set up a camera for a rehearsal much more often than for a practice session.

Mike
Joshua Lozoff
View Profile
Inner circle
Chapel Hill, NC
1332 Posts

Profile of Joshua Lozoff
One important thing as far as placement is to set the camera at the eye level of your audience. IF you are practicing for table hopping, set the camera around your waist level, so you can see what it looks like for those who will be seated.
Joshua Lozoff

joshualozoff.com
THEHATER
View Profile
New user
Yugoslavia
37 Posts

Profile of THEHATER