The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Polly wants a cracker... » » Rabbits (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
Matt Ferro
View Profile
Regular user
Minnesota
128 Posts

Profile of Matt Ferro
I am looking to add a rabbit to my show and I am new to live animals and so I don't know where to start. I have read posts that have said that there are different types of rabbits and all sorts of specifications for them. What kind would be the best for a beginner and what are some good effects that a bunny could be used in? thanks
Matt
Don't practice till you can do it right, Practice till you can't do it wrong...
Regan
View Profile
Inner circle
U.S.A.
5701 Posts

Profile of Regan
Matt,

Try to get a Netherland Dwarf bunny. They are available in different colors or the standard white. They are small and only weigh around 2 1/2 pounds fully grown. I would recommend going to a reputable rabbit breeder to purchase one. If you don't know what to look for you can get a mix breed dwarf that might turn out to be too large. This happened to me when I bought my first bunny. I have had great success with male bunnys. I only had one female and her temperment was not as good as the males I have owned.

Hope this helps.

Regan
Mister Mystery
Dennis Michael
View Profile
Inner circle
Southern, NJ
6018 Posts

Profile of Dennis Michael
Agree with Regan,

I have three dwarfs and the female bit me. She has a temperment. One of the males is larger than the other two dwarfs and it appears he is mixed a little. Still he's not big but bigger than the other two and an exchange from a smaller to bigger is noticable.

They require daily care, feeding and watering. Their cages stink because they have a high ammonia type order in their urine, so a good cat litter absorbant with deoderizer helps a lot, as well as changing it often.