The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Polly wants a cracker... » » Cooing during act? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Jeff Jenson
View Profile
Veteran user
Denver, Colorado
319 Posts

Profile of Jeff Jenson
I'm new to dove magic and was just wondering do doves coo during your act? If so how do you stop them from cooing like when your talking into a mic. or even just standing there waiting for your music to start?
Jeff Jenson
"Keep The Magic Alive"
james_magic
View Profile
Regular user
Australia
124 Posts

Profile of james_magic
In my experience I've never had a dove coo during my act. I wonder if anyone else has?
Bob Sanders
View Profile
1945 - 2024
Magic Valley Ranch, Clanton, Alabama
20504 Posts

Profile of Bob Sanders
I have certainly had doves coo during the act. Usually it is after they have been produced and they are resting on a perch with other doves. I leave it alone because the audience is entertained by it. You certainly can't force doves to coo. To me it shows the audience that the doves feel safe and comfortable. That is worth getting across to many of them. Some think we beat doves or something!

Bob
Magic By Sander
Bob Sanders

Magic By Sander / The Amazed Wiz

AmazedWiz@Yahoo.com
Dave Scribner
View Profile
Assistant Manager
Lake Hopatcong, NJ
4854 Posts

Profile of Dave Scribner
I'm with Bob on this. I've never had a dove coo while "loaded" whether in body style or prop. It's dark in those places and the cooing usually is halted. Once produced, it is not uncommon for them to coo.
Where the magic begins
Darcy
View Profile
Regular user
128 Posts

Profile of Darcy
When that happens In my act, while I'm talking I'll usually make a joke and try to get a laugh out of the audience. It shows that your not using "fake" birds and as Bob said it shows that they feel safe.

Darcy
Jeff Jenson
View Profile
Veteran user
Denver, Colorado
319 Posts

Profile of Jeff Jenson