The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Now that’s funny! » » Your shorts are showing (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

dlcmagic
View Profile
Special user
887 Posts

Profile of dlcmagic
Although I feel it is in poor taste to perform
Houdini Outstripped with a volunteer, does anyone feel it would be funny and in good taste to perform it on myself, sort of like "I will escape from this" type
of thing? Would it be tasteful to perform this for a family show?
Stevethomas
View Profile
Inner circle
Southern U.S.A.
3724 Posts

Profile of Stevethomas
It's not too far removed from Professor (Charles) Cheer's Comedy Rope Routine...it ends with the performer's underwear on display for everyone to see. I've been using this for almost 20 years. I think if it's performed on yourself, it's perfectly fine.

Steve Thomas
NJJ
View Profile
Inner circle
6439 Posts

Profile of NJJ
I perform this all the time WITH a volunteer for family audiences! (not children's shows but family crowds) and it plays very well.

I think it is less funny to do it on yourself but with a good presentation it could work!
k
View Profile
Loyal user
Marseille
282 Posts

Profile of k
What if the performer's underwear was to be a g-string and a bra (performer being a man of course!!!)?
I'm just a blind Con that lost his I...
remember, Magic's everywhere... ("Your are the magic !" - Albert Goshman)

"Voici mon secret. Il est très simple. On ne voit bien qu'avec le coeur. L'essentiel est invisible pour les yeux" St-Exupéry
Ron Reid
View Profile
Inner circle
Phoenix, Arizona
2733 Posts

Profile of Ron Reid
Hi David:

I see no problem in doing this with an older boy. I know David Ginn discusses this particular effect in his "School Show Presentation" book/cassette. He basically thinks the same: doing it for a younger child or any girl would be in bad taste, or questionable at best. But for an older boy (say, 10 years and up), it is fine.

Ron
NJJ